House Republicans choose remaining leadership positions

House Republican Leader Richard DeBolt, R-Chehalis, announced today appointments to the remaining House Republican Caucus leadership positions for the upcoming two years.

Rep. Shelly Short, R-Addy, was appointed House Republican vice caucus chair.  She will assist the caucus chair, Rep. Dan Kristiansen, R-Snohomish, in setting legislative priorities for the caucus as well as presiding over caucus meetings for the chair when bills, amendments, voting and other legislative matters are discussed.

The caucus also appointed three new members to serve as House Republican assistant caucus whips.  The caucus whip, Rep. Paul Harris, R-Vancouver, and his assistant whips help ensure caucus work is carried out in an orderly fashion while maintaining decorum during caucus meetings.  The new House Republican assistant caucus whips are:

Rep.-elect Elizabeth Scott, R-Monroe, serving the 39th Legislative District;

Rep.-elect Drew MacEwen, R-Union, serving the 35th Legislative District; and,

Rep.-elect Jeff Holy, R-Spokane, serving the 6th Legislative District.

The four new appointees join the elected members of the House Republican leadership team and will play key roles in developing and implementing plans and policies supported by the House Republican Caucus.


Washington State House Republican Communications